counter

Directory

WHEN YOU HAVE A QUESTION/CONCERN

The Appoquinimink School District recognizes that, from time to time, families have questions and concerns they wish to bring to the attention of appropriate school officials. To assist in this regard, the following guidelines have been developed:

  • Any concern regarding a school-related matter should be discussed first with the staff member closest to the issue.
  • If, after discussion, the matter is not resolved, families may wish to speak to the building principal. Appointments can be scheduled by contacting the office of the principal involved.
  • If the matter is still not resolved to your satisfaction, a family may wish to speak with the Assistant Superintendent. For an appointment, simply call the Assistant Superintendent’s Office at 376.4105.

DISTRICT ADMINISTRATORS

Superintendent’s Office

Dr. Tony Marchio, Superintendent
302.376.4101 phone
tony.marchio@appo.k12.de.us

  • Administration
  • Board of Education
  • Business Partnerships
  • District Policies
  • Legal Matters
  • Referendum
  • Research
  • School Choice
  • State and Federal Laws
  • Strategic Planning

Assistant Superintendent’s Office

Dr. Marion Proffitt, Asst. Superintendent
302.376.4105 phone
marion.proffitt@appo.k12.de.us

  • Academic Partnerships
  • Achievement and Accountability Student, Parent, Educator
  • Administrative Requests for Professional Leave
  • Unresolved Parent Concerns

Business Office

Dr. Chuck Longfellow, Acting Director of Finance
302.376.4126 phone
chuck.longfellow@appo.k12.de.us

Curriculum Office

Dr. Deborah Panchisin, Curriculum Director for Elementary Education
(grades K-5)
302.376.4271 phone
debbie.panchisin@appo.k12.de.us

Dr. Eileen McAllister, Curriculum Director for Secondary Education
(grades 6-12)
302.376.4271 phone
eileen.mcallister@appo.k12.de.us

  • Curriculum and Instruction
  • Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP)
  • English as a Second Language
  • Extended Time Programs
  • Field Trips
  • Grants
  • State and Federal Programs
  • Summer School
  • Teacher Training and Development
  • Teacher Requests for Professional Leave

Communications Office

Mrs. Lilian Miles, Public Information Officer
302.376.4109 phone
lilian.miles@appo.k12.de.us

  • Media Contact
  • Publications
  • Public Relations

Facilities Management Office

Mr. Robert Hershey, Buildings & Facilities Supervisor
302.376.4124 phone
bob.hershey@appo.k12.de.us

  • Facilities and Grounds Management including Custodial Services
  • Facilities Planning and Construction
  • Facilities Rental/Usage

Human Resources Office

Mr. Matt Fallis, Human Resources Director
302.376.4275 phone
matt.fallis@appo.k12.de.us

  • Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
  • Affirmative Action
  • Enrollment
  • Employee Benefits
  • Faculty and Staff Assistance
  • Human Resources
  • Labor Relations
  • Occupational Health and Safety
  • Recruitment and Retention
  • United Way Enrollment

Nutrition Services Office

Mrs. Janice Vander Decker, School Nutrition Supervisor
302.376.4280 phone
janice.vanderdecker@appo.k12.de.us

  • Free and Reduced Meals
  • School Nutrition Services

Special Education Office

Mrs. Mary Ann Mieczkowski, Special Education/ILC Supervisor
302.376.4130 phone
maryann.mieczkowski@appo.k12.de.us

  • All Special Education Services Identification, Assessment, Placement, Support
  • Assistive Technology
  • Child Find Testing (Preschool Development Assessment)
  • Early Admissions Evaluations
  • Homebound Instruction
  • Individual Education Plans (IEP)
  • Psychological Services for Students
  • Speech, Physical and Occupational Therapy
  • Summer School and Extended School Year Programs for Children with Disabilities

Student Services Office

Mrs. Kittie Rehrig, Student Services Supervisor
302.376.4111 phone
kittie.rehrig@appo.k12.de.us

  • Alternative Education Programs
  • Civil Rights
  • Counseling and Student Development
  • Emergency Planning
  • Home School Liaison
  • Intervention Services
  • School Resource Officer (SRO) Program
  • Social Services
  • School Climate and Diversity
  • Student Attendance
  • Student Health Services
  • Expulsions

Technology Office

Dr. Chuck Longfellow, Director of Technology
302.376.4281 phone
chuck.longfellow@appo.k12.de.us

Transportation Office

Mr. Gregg Tulowitzky, Transportation Supervisor
302.376.4132 phone
transportation@appo.k12.de.us

  • Student Transportation
  • District Feeder Patterns

Adult Education

Ms. Hazel Showell, Appoquinimink Adult Continuing Education (ACE) Programs School Principal
302.378.5037 phone
hazel.showell@appo.k12.de.us

  • Adult Basic Education
  • Family Literacy
  • GED Program
  • High School Diploma Program

PRINCIPALS

Alfred G. Waters Middle School

Mr. James Comegys
302.449.3490 phone
jim.comegys@appo.k12.de.us

Appoquinimink Adult Continuing Education (ACE) Programs School

Ms. Hazel Showell, Principal
302.378.5037 phone
hazel.showell@appo.k12.de.us

Appoquinimink Preschool Center

Ms. Rene’ Nolan
302.376.4400 phone
rene.nolan@appo.k12.de.us

Appoquinimink High School

Ms. Felecia Duggins
302.449.3840 phone
feleica.duggins@appo.k12.de.us

Brick Mill Elementary

Mr. Don Davis
302.378.5045 phone
don.davis@appo.k12.de.us

Cedar Lane Early Childhood Center

Dr. Sandra Cohee
302.449.5873 phone
sandra.cohee@appo.k12.de.us

Cedar Lane Elementary

Ms. Donna Kolakowski
302.378.5045 phone
donna.kolakowski@appo.k12.de.us

Everett Meredith Middle School

Dr. Claude McAllister
302.378.5001 phone
claude.mcallister@appo.k12.de.us

Louis L. Redding Middle School

Mr. Matthew Burrowss
302.378.5030 phone
matthew.burrows@appo.k12.de.us

Middletown High School

Ms. Donna Mitchell
302.376.4141 phone
donna.mitchell@appo.k12.de.us

Olive Loss Elementary

Ms. Lorraine Lybarger
302.832.1343 phone
lorraine.lybarger@appo.k12.de.us

Silver Lake Elementary

Dr. Sharon Pepukayi
302.378.5023 phone
sharon.pepukayi@appo.k12.de.us

Townsend Elementary

Mr. Charles Sheppard
302.378.5020 phone
charles.sheppard@appo.k12.de.us

STAFF DIRECTORIES

BACK TO TOP